Pixelated Quilt | Paper Patterns

I would like to introduce my newest quilt pattern: 'Pixelated', out today in issue 51 of Love Patchwork & Quilting magazine. I love a modern rainbow quilt, and am really proud of this one! It's a simple beginner friendly quilt, no fiddly points to match, and the pattern in the magazine has a clear cutting chart. Easy peasy!


The magazine is now available in stores in the UK and for digital download, and will be hitting the shelves in the US in 4-6 weeks. Digital copies are available for  Apple NewsstandZinio or Google Play.



I have some other fabulous news to share with you today! Please join me in celebrating this huge milestone in my quilty career: paper patterns! I have been selling PDF patterns in my Etsy shop for a while now, but I know a lot of you prefer the real paper version to electronic, so you can now ask your local quilt store to order them in. I also have a few copies of each paper pattern in my shop. Wholesale orders can be placed via Creative Abundance in Australia and Checkers Distributors in the US. 

 

Thank you for visiting and have a lovely day!

'A Piece of Cake' Book Tour

I am so thrilled to kick off the book tour for my lovely friend and fellow Aussie designer Peta Peace's first book, 'A Piece of Cake', published by Martingale. It's a lovely book full of some of the best quilt patterns I have ever seen (like, seriously), and all of them can be made from layer cake (10") squares. What a clever book concept, and the perfect book name to go with it!

I met Peta via quilty social media a few years back and then finally in person at the spring quilt market last year. She has become one of my best quilty buddies since then and has been a huge support in more ways than one. It was high time she published a book, and I am so happy to join her and a group of incredible sewists in celebrating the launch of her first book! I'm saying 'first' book as I have no doubt she will publish many, many more, the rising star that she is.


For my project on the tour I simply had to make THAT quilt on the cover, which is called 'Playing Around Again'. What a simple but effective pattern -  I had the whole quilt top cut and pieced in just over a day. A new record for me!


We've had glorious sunny weather here the last few days, but because I had a quilt to photograph today in the garden, it had to be pouring with rain, and with blustery winds (grrr). This was the best picture we could manage in the garden, where you can see 'almost' the entire quilt. Just imagine the quilt flapping about as I was taking photos non stop. Most of the other photos featured my husband's legs and the quilt backing more prominently than the front! We finally gave up on the garden shoot, and took the rest of the photos indoors.


The fabrics I have used are of course my Sweet Prairie collection for Riley Blake Designs, which is now out in the US and soon hitting the shelves in Australia and Europe too. The pink bias stripe binding is from my Sweet Orchard collection, and for the backing I used Riley Blake Le Creme Swiss Dot in Gray.


Here's the schedule for the rest of the blog tour, if you would like to see more wonderful quilts from this book! Enjoy!
14 Aug Sedef - Down Grapevine Lane
15 Aug Jemima - Tied with a Ribbon
16 Aug Samantha - Aqua Paisley Studio
17 Aug Andy - A Bright Corner
18 Aug Kirsty - Bonjour Quilts
20 Aug Alison - Cotton Factory
21 Aug Carrie - Moda Fabrics
22 Aug Nadra - Ellis and Higgs
23 Aug Angie - Gnome Angel
24 Aug Tara - Tara Sews
25 Aug Jules - The Creative Retreat
26 Aug Kristyne - Pretty by Hand
27 Aug Kimberly - Fat Quarter Shop
28 Aug Lissa - Moda Lissa
29 Aug Amy - Diary of a Quilter
30 Aug Kerry - Kid Giddy & Cat - Hello from Cat on Instagram
31 Aug Jane - Modern Makers Retreat
1 Sept Kate - Never Enough Hours
2 Sept Jodie - Vintage Ric Rac
3 Sept Sharon - Patches Indooroopilly
4 Sept Amanda - Material Girl Quilts
5 Sept Amber - A Little Bit Biased
6 Sept Xanthe - Wife Made
7 Sept Rachel - Family Ever After
8 Sept Jenny - Martingale
9 Sept Amy - Nana Company
10 Sept Peta - She Quilts A Lot

'Quilting On The Go... English Paper Piecing' Book Tour



It's my turn on the book tour of my friend and fellow Aussie pattern designer Sharon Burgess' first book, 'Quilting On The Go... English Paper Piecing', published by Tuva Publishing. Those of you familiar with Sharon's incredible EPP work may recognise her as @lilabellelane on social media. Like all her work, Sharon's first book is absolutely impeccable, and oh so inspiring! It's suitable for both experienced English paper piecers and complete beginners - the entire first quarter of the book is a huge Techniques section that tells you everything you need to know about English Paper Piecing.


For my first project I picked the 'Spring Time Journal Cover'. I carry an A5 sketch book in my handbag wherever I go - you never know when inspiration may hit for a new fabric design or a quilt pattern idea! I thought it would be cute to make a pretty cover for it, especially as it also has a super handy pocket on the inside cover for pens and any other bits and bobs. No more hunting for a pen at the bottom of my handbag!


For the fabrics I used my new Sweet Prairie collection for Riley Blake Designs which is imminently shipping to stores in US and Europe, and coming to Australia in a few weeks. I am so proud of this collection as it's so 'me'! I printed the tag on the front cover on cardstock (after much wrestling with printable cotton which for some reason my printer didn't like! So in the end I gave up and used paper. I'll just remove it when the cover needs a wash). I also added some ties to the journal cover to make sure the journal stays closed and the pens don't fall out in my bag.


My second project is the 'Linen And Lace Fussy Cut Pincushions', also in Sweet Prairie. I desperately needed a new pincushion to replace my current one that's falling apart. I love it so much!


I hope you enjoyed my projects! If you'd like to see what everyone else is making on the blog tour, here's the full schedule. Enjoy!

July 1  Sharon Burgess@lilabellelaneblog.lilabellelanecreations.com
July 2  Martina Bahre@avaandnevewww.avaandneve.com.au/blog/
July 5  Sharon Burgess@lilabellelaneblog.lilabellelanecreations.com
July 8  Alex Luenz@ALEXOUQwww.instagram.com/alexouq/
July 10  Weekly round up@ilabellelanelilabellelanecreations.com
July 12  Rita Hodge @redpepperquiltswww.redpepperquilts.com
July 13  Elise Baek@eliseandemeliewww.eliseandemelie.com/
July 14  Jennie Pickett@cloverandvioletwww.cloverandviolet.com/blog
July 15  Angela Hamilton@alittlepatchworkwww.alittlepatchwork.wordpress.com
July 17  Weekly round up@lilabellelaneblog.lilabellelanecreations.com
July 18  Heidi Grohs@buttonsandbutterflieswww.buttonsandbutterflies.com
July 19  Carlie Lincoln@quilty_carliewww.instagram.com/quilty_carlie/
July 20  Jess Finn@paperpieceseppwww.paperpieces.com
July 21  Alison von Bibra@cotton_factorywww.cottonfactory.wordpress.com
July 22  Anorina Morris@SameliasMumwww.sameliasmum.com
July 23  Kristyne Czepuryk@prettybyhandprettybyhand.com
July 24  Weekly round up@lilabellelaneblog.lilabellelanecreations.com
July 25  Amy Smart@diaryofaquilter.comwww.diaryofaquilter.com
July 26  Nadra Ridgeway@ellisandhiggs.comwww.ellisandhiggs.com
July 27  Lauren Wright@mollyandmamawww.mollyandmama.com.au
July 28  Giuseppe Ribaudo@giucy_giucewww.instagram.com/giucy_giuce/
July 29  Jodi Godfrey@talesofclothwww.talesofcloth.com
July 31  Weekly round up@lilabellelaneblog.lilabellelanecreations.com
Aug 1  Amira Ameruddin@amira_littlemushroomcapthelittlemushroomcap.com
Aug 2  Melody Daly@melodymatildathehouseonthesideofthehill.blogspot.com.au/
Aug 3  Sedef Imer@downgrapevinelanewww.downgrapevinelane.com
Aug 4  Martina Bahre@avaaandnevewww.avaandneve.com.au/blog/
Aug 5  Samantha Green@fortheloveoffabricwww.fortheloveoffabric.net
Aug 6  Alisha Orlando@ministryoffabricwww.ministryoffabric.com.au
Aug 7  Weekly round up@lilabellelaneblog.lilabellelanecreations.com
Aug 8  Minki Kim@zerianominkikim.com
Aug 9  Carlie Lincoln@quilty_carliewww.instagram.com/quilty_carlie/
Aug 10  Alex Luenz@ALEXOUQwww.instagram.com/alexouq/
Aug 11  Mathew Boudreaux@MisterDomesticwww.MisterDomestic.net
Aug 12  Anna Cromie@spanzywww.instagram.com/spanzy/
Aug 13  Elise Baek@eliseandemeliewww.eliseandemelie.com
Aug 14  Wynn Tan@zakkaArtwww.zakkaArt.blogspot.com
Aug 15  Final wrap up@ilabellelaneblog.lilabellelanecreations.com

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...